For media inquiries, please contact Jose Gonzalez, Vice President for Engagement, Development & Communications at

Ten Inducted into Hall of Honor
Posted 11/26/2019 11:32AM

On Friday, November 22nd, the Fordham Prep community gathered in the Garden Terrace Room at the New York Botanical Gardens to honor ten of its own with induction into the school’s Hall of Honor.

The class included two former members of the Prep faculty and eight alumni, two of who previously served as Chair of the Board of Trustees.  The honorees included a Jesuit priest, two doctors, successful businessmen, exceptional athletes, and a trailblazing member of the Fordham Prep faculty. However, the diverse group share a common passion for the school’s mission to “create and form leaders in faith, scholarship, and service.”  

Dr. Joseph Petriello ‘98, principal of Fordham Prep, opened the evening and served as the event’s Master of Ceremonies.  Former Prep president Rev. Kenneth Boller, SJ, followed him with an invocation asking God to bless the honorees, all those attending, and the entire Fordahm Prep community.  

School president, Rev. Christopher Devron, SJ, then welcomed a crowd of over 300 individuals including seven current members or family members of the Hall of Honor.

Each member of the class was introduced by a current member of the Hall of Honor or member of the Hall of Honor Nominating Committee.  After a short video, each inductee, or a member of their family, had the opportunity to address those gathered. While many details were unique to the individual, all spoke of the values instilled upon them by generations of Prep faculty and staff. These included fidelity to God, the Society of Jesus, and Jesuit education which sustained them as students, as members of the faculty, and in their professional lives.

The honorees included David Arellano 1887, Rev. Thomas Crowley, SJ, Llewellyn Hyacinthe, MD ‘80, Frank McLaughlin ‘65, Edward O’Brien Sr. ‘46, Louis A. Perrotta MD 1920, William M. Perry ‘64, Wanda Pineiro, James S. Rowen VII ‘82, Martin A. Waters Jr. ‘57.

Former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Jim Rowen ‘82, summed up the feelings of all honorees by saying, “I feel a tremendous sense of debt to the Prep.  Without the Prep, my life would be very different.”  

The next Hall of Honor induction will take place in November of 2021. Nominations for the class will open on June 1, 2020.  

Compilation Video Photo Gallery

Inductee Videos:

Arellano Crowley Hyacinthe McLaughlin O'Brien Perrotta Perry Pineiro Rowen Waters 

Nomination Form

powered by finalsite